History – Ettalong Memorial Womens Bowling Club


The Inaugral meeting was held on 23 April 1965 after having successfully pressured the Men’s Club to allow a Ladies Club to be formed. The Ladies had supported the Men’s Club in 1960 as voluntary workers since their own formation. The Board donated the Ladies ten pounds to help them. History shows that they have continued to support the Ladies when it has been requested. The Central Coast District Womens’ Association fully supported the Ladies aim in forming a Club. Joining fee was 1 pound, one shilling and the annual subscripton was 3 pound, 5 shillings. EMWBC was registered as affiliated with NSWWBA on the 26th May 1965. The Club was officially opened in 1966 by State President Mrs V. Bennett. Mrs L. Martin was elected as Foundation President along with Secretary Thelma Westaway and Treasurer Hilda Neighbour. Throughout the years we have successfully won inter Club, District Pennant Flags and other various Competitions to the delight of all Presidents, including our present President. Joan Jessup is the only Foundation Member still with us today. Although the Club has seen many changes throughout the years, we hope with the continued support of all of our members and the Men’s Club we may continue to prosper.

Past Presidents: 1965 to the present L Martin, E Wood, A Coleman, W Evans, J Hawkshaw, B Worboys, J Tracey, E Stewart, J White, I H Dutton, I McCarthy, N Richardson, G Gray, M Buchanan, J Booth, K Osborne, L Williams, E Mellross.